Mr. M Noone

Director of Science

Mr. M Noone
Mr. D Robins
Mr. S Baker
Mrs. S Philpott
Mrs. G Enti
Mrs. B Tillotson
Mr. R Wade
Mrs. V Barrett

Department Vision

The Abbey School Science Department aims to ensure every child is able to understand and critically evaluate any scientific problem they may be faced with in an ever-changing, modern world. We strive to provide students with the ability to make their own decisions about the ethical and moral dilemmas facing society today. Through the courses that we offer, we seek to provide an inspiring range of experiences to nurture our students' naturally inquisitive nature. 

Key Stage 3

Students follow a 2 year Key Stage 3 course which is divided into a range of topics covering the Physics, Chemistry and Biology aspects of the national Curriculum for Science.

Students are set 1 homework of between 30 and 45 minutes per week.

Key Stage 4

GCSE science is divided into 3 sections; chemistry, physics and biology. For our year 11 students each one is assessed through a 1 hour written examination. For GCSE and Additional GCSE science there is also a centre assessed unit. Year 9 and 10 are following the new specification and will do 6 x 1 ¼ hour exams in year 11 to gain a qualification worth 2 GCSE’s.



Students are set 1 homework of between 30 minutes and 1 hour per week.

  credit-ID FBP member logo


If, as parent or guardian of a student attending this school, you require a paper copy of the information on this website, we shall provide this free of charge.
The Abbey School Faversham is a company limited by guarantee registered in England. Company No. 07697086
Copyright The Abbey School © 2017. Web site maintenance by Faversham Designs.